Multimedia‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Glengarriff GAA Club AGM 2011:

posted 13 Jan 2011, 15:27 by Glengarriff GAA   [ updated 25 Jan 2011, 09:54 by Unknown user ]

The Annual General Meeting of Glengarriff GAA Club was held on Sunday last the 9th January in the Glengarriff Park Hotel & was very well attended.


Chairman’s Address:
Outgoing Club Chairman, Gerard Galvin, opened the meeting at 3p.m. with his address. He welcomed everyone and thanked them for their attendance & support of the annual meeting. He gave a general speech on how the club had faired during 2010 on & off the field of play, with special mentions for our underage teams and the Under 21 panel who successfully retained their South West Championship earlier in the year. He also congratulated the Junior A panel for reaching a third Beara Championship final in four years, but voiced his disappointment that they hadn’t kicked on from the massive success of ’09.
    He went on to again congratulate Matthew O’Shea & Peadar Healy on their individual achievements with the Cork Minor & Senior Football Teams respectfully and his hope is that, Matthew’s success in winning a Munster Minor Football Medal & reaching the All-Ireland Minor Football Final will spur on more of our young players to follow his dedication to training & development in the coming years.
    He concluded by thanking everyone for their support of our various fundraising events during the year and urged everyone to help out in anyway they can in the running of the club during the coming year!


Secretary’s Report:
Outgoing Club Secretary, Mary O’Sullivan, was then invited to present her report for the year.
    She started with a report of the underage teams, detailing the progress at each age group during the year. A special mention was given to both the under 10’s & under 12’s, who both won competitions during 2010. She moved on to the under 21’s, congratulating the players and mentors on the back to back championship successes in the South West Competition.
    In conclusion she again also congratulated Matthew O’Shea on his outstanding successes in 2010, while also congratulating the many other underage players involved with Divisional & County Development Squads.


Treasurer’s Report:
The Outgoing Club Treasurer, Tony McElhinney, was then asked to give his Financial Report for 2010.
    He handed out a balance sheet to all members present and collected them again at the end of his report. He gave a brief breakdown of the income & expenditure for the year and detailed the main areas of change from 2009. The biggest changes being the medical claims were significantly down and he put this down to, players processing the majority of their medical expense claims through their own personal health insurance policies, rather than through the club’s insurance. He also congratulated the Registrar, Shirley Murphy, on her great efforts in collecting the annual club membership fees which were well up on previous year’s figures.
    He concluded with saying, that the club’s financial situation is healthy at the present time.
Both the Secretary’s & Treasurer’s Reports were adopted.


Election Of Club Officers:

The meeting then continued with the existing Committee members standing down and Sean Hurley was nominated to chair the meeting for the election of the 2011 Club Officers. Two new positions became available on the committee this time around, these being; Language & Cultural Officer and Games Development Officer.


The following is the list of the incoming Officers for 2011:

President: Denis Heffernan
Vice-President: Sean Hurley
Chairman: Gerard Galvin
Vice-Chairman: Noel Hurley

Secretary: Mary O’Sullivan

Treasurer: Tony McElhinney
Assistant Treasurer: ~ Bernard Harrington
PRO: John Galvin
Registrar: Shirley Murphy
Language & Cultural Officer: Terence O’Shea
ASAP Officer: Sean Hurley
Games Development Officer: Sean Hurley
Report by:
John Galvin, PRO Glengarriff GAA Club
Mobile: 087-7589585